An Experience to Remember

Emily Gotkiewicz watches tennis, play tennis and even helps teach tennis on a daily basis. She’s described as responsible, dependable, reliable and independent. She strings racquets at her local club.

US Open

Emily (right) with friend, Maddy Hart, at Arthur Ashe Stadium.

“She is not the typical 14-year-old,” says mother Dawn.

That’s for sure.

Gotkiewicz, a junior player from the Pittsburgh suburb Canonsburg, Pa., recently traveled to the US Open as part of her prize for winning the the 2014 #TeamMiddleStates social media contest. She traveled from Pittsburgh with friend Maddy Hart, who she also trains with on the tennis court.

 

The experience was exciting for Gotkiewicz for a number of reasons. Check out what made the trip special, and what she’s up to as a young player, below.

Getting to know: Emily Gotkiewicz

 

Began playing tennis: Age 9

Lives and trains: I live in Canonsburg Pa. I train in Wexford at Pennsylvania Tennis Academy with Kelly Sorbo as my main coach.
What you love most about tennis: I love competing because the pressure helps me develop my game. I love that tennis is a mental game as well as a physical game.
On her first US Open trip: It was phenomenal! I was able to see several of the top players that I look up to. Best of all, I was able to travel on my own and be responsible for myself. I cannot wait to go again!
Goals as a player in the next year: I plan to work hard as I age out of girls’ 14s and start working towards girls’ 16s tournaments. I hope to attend as many national tournaments as I can because they really help me learn how to better my game.

Leave a Reply

